Mile Highlights: This week's concert news, local radio playlists and top album sales

0502_dcosky.JPG

Here's what's good in the Mile High City this week: On the concert front, we've received word that Death Cab for Cutie is due at Red Rocks in August with Frightened Rabbit, preceded by O.A.R. in July, while Ben Folds stops by the Ogden in July and Queensryche plays the Theatre in September. On local radio, Fingers of the Sun, Radical Knitting Circle and Mesita got spins. And finally, TV on the Radio, E-40 and Steve Earle topped the charts at our local record stores last week. Click through for a full rundown.


This Just In: New Concerts and On-sale Dates


0502_death-cab.jpeg
Death Cab for Cutie, hitting the road this summer in support of its forthcoming album, Codes and Keys (slated for a May 31 release) stops by Red Rocks on Tuesday, August 23, with Frightened Rabbit opening the show. General admission and reserved tickets ($36.75 - $42.50) go on sale Saturday, May 7 at 10 a.m.

O.A.R. also stops by Red Rocks on Friday, July 29 as part of a 21-city summer tour in support of its upcoming album. General admission and reserved tickets ($38.50-$42.50) go on sale May 7 at 10 a.m.

Ben Folds hits the Ogden Theatre on Wednesday, July 13. General admission tickets ($35) go on sale Saturday, May 7. Queensryche, meanwhile, entering into its third decade of existence and preparing to release its twelfth studio album, Dedicated to Chaos, is also due at the Ogden on Saturday, September 17. General admission tickets for that one are $35 and go on sale this Saturday, May 7 at 10 a.m.

Here's a rundown of other recently added shows that are either on sale now or go on sale this week.

Bluebird Theater
Blitzen Trapper: Wed., July 20, 8 p.m., $15.75-$18.
Glass Delirium: With Seris, Yerkish and Roniit, Fri., June 24, 8:30 p.m., $7-$10.
Reid Speed: With fs and Cyberoptics, Sat., July 23, 9 p.m., $22-$25.

Boulder Theater
eTown with Hot Tuna and Dar Williams: Wed., June 29, 7 p.m., $22
eTown with Matt Wertz and Nicole Atkins: Sun., May 22, 6 p.m., $19.
Tower of Power: Sun., Aug. 7, 7:30 p.m., $30.

Cervantes' Masterpiece Ballroom
Black Uhuru: Sat., June 4, 9 p.m., $20/$25.

Fox Theatre
Dechen Hawk's Soul Sessions: With Rogue Sound, By All Means & Dreams Are For Rookies, Sat., May 28, 8:30 p.m., $5/$8.
Mat McHugh of the Beautiful Girls (solo acoustic): With Mishka (acoustic) and Anuhea, Thu., July 7, 8:30 p.m., $13/$16.

Gothic Theatre
Buckethead: Thu., July 21, 8 p.m.
Never Not Funny with Jimmy Pardo: Sat., July 16, 7 p.m.

L2 Arts & Culture Center
David Bromberg Band: Fri., Dec. 30, 8 p.m.
Cheryl Wheeler: With Jill Sobule, Sat., Dec. 3, 8 p.m.

Larimer Lounge
Alberta Cross: Tue., June 7.
DJ Nathaniel Rateliff: Fillmore after-party, Wed., June 15, 11 p.m., $5.

Marquis Theater
Emery: Mon., June 6.
Mac Lethal: Sun., June 19, 8 p.m., $10.
Pharoahe Monch: Sat., June 18.
Swingin' Utters: Sun., June 26, 7 p.m., $13/$15.

Ogden Theatre
Ben Folds: With Kenton Chen, Wed., July 13, 8 p.m., $35.
Queensryche: Sat., Sept. 17, 8 p.m., $35.

Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Death Cab for Cutie: With Frightened Rabbit, Tue., Aug. 23, 7:30 p.m., $36.75-$42.50.
O.A.R.: Fri., July 29, 7:30 p.m., $38.50-$42.50.

Summit Music Hall
Taking Back Sunday: Tue., June 14, 6 p.m., $27.50/$30.

Swallow Hill
Bearfoot: Fri., Oct. 28, 8 p.m.
Iris DeMent: Sat., Aug. 20, 8 p.m.
The Refugees: Sat., Oct. 22, 8 p.m.

Temple Buell Theatre
Straight No Chaser: Thu., Oct. 20, 7:30 p.m., $29.50-$42.50.


Click through for Local Playlists

Sponsor Content

My Voice Nation Help
0 comments

Now Trending

Denver Concert Tickets

Around The Web

From the Vault

 

Loading...