Mile Highlights: This week's concert news, local radio playlists and top album sales

0518_dencosky.jpg

Here's what's good in the Mile High City this week: In concert news, Phish is closing out its tour at Dick's on Labor Day weekend, Roger Daltrey is performing the Who's Tommy at 1STBANK in October, Return to Forever is returning the Paramount and Sugarland is stopping by Comfort Dental with Sara Bareilles in August. On local radio, Boulder got some big love with Big Gigantic, Statewide Emergency (which has, sadly, called it a day) and Trace Bundy getting spins. Meanwhile, at our local record stores, the Beastie Boys' Hot Sauce Committee Part 2 did well, as did Helplessness Blues by Fleet Foxes and American Tragedy by Hollywood Undead. Click through for a full rundown.


This Just In: New Concerts and On-sale Dates


0511_phishy2.jpg
As we announced last week, Phish is closing out its tour with a three-day Labor Day weekend stint at Dick's Sporting Goods Park and Roger Daltrey will perform the Who's rock-opera Tommy at 1STBANK Center on Sunday, October 16.

In 2008, Chick Corea brought the original line-up of Return to Forever, which also featured Stanley Clarke, Lenny White and Al DiMeola, to the Paramount Theatre. On Saturday, August 27, they'll be back (sans DiMeola) at the venue for Return to Forever IV, which also includes violinist Jean-Luc Ponty and guitarist Frank Gambale. Zappa Plays Zappa opens the show. Reserved tickets ($49.50-$129.50) go on sale Saturday, May 21 at 10 a.m.

Sugarland brings its Incredible Machine Tour to the Comfort Dental Amphitheatre on Friday, August 19. Sara Bareilles opens the show. Tickets ($25-$55) go on sale Saturday, May 21 at 10 a.m.

Here's a rundown of other recently added shows that are either on sale now or go on sale this week.

Bluebird Theater
Borgore: With Ishe, Despise and XEFEX, Tue., June 7, 8 p.m.; Thu., June 9, 8 p.m., $23-$25/two day passes $46.
Supersuckers: Fri., June 24, 9 p.m., $15.75/$20.
Westword Music Showcase After-Party: Sat., June 18, 10 p.m., $5/$6.
Yamn: With Ultraviolet Hippopotamus, Fri., July 15, 9 p.m., $5/$10.
Zoe: Thu., Aug. 11, 8 p.m., $25/$35.

Boulder Theater
eTown with DeVotchKa and Joe Purdy: Wed., June 1, 7 p.m., $15.
Stephen Marley: Sat., June 25.

Comfort Dental Amphitheatre
Sugarland: With Sara Bareilles, Fri., Aug. 19, 7:30 p.m., $25-$55.

Dick's Sporting Goods Park
Phish: Sept. 2-4, 7:30 p.m., $47.50/$60.

1STBANK Center
Roger Daltrey: Performing the Who's Tommy, Who classics and more, Sun., Oct. 16.

Fox Theatre
Ian Cooke: With Danielle Ate the Sandwich, Fri., July 15.
Euforquestra: Thu., June 23.
Nautical Mile: Sat., July 9.

Gothic Theatre
7 Walkers: Featuring members of Grateful Dead, Tea Leaf Green and Papa Mali, Fri., Sept. 16, 8 p.m.
All My Boys: With Fulcrum, Skyfox, P-Nuckle, Golden Ticket, Elete, Heart and Soul Radio, Coral Thief, Synergy, Beatsmith Atomic, Sat., Aug. 13, 4 p.m.

Larimer Lounge
Foster the People (DJ set): Wed., June 8, 10:30 p.m., $5
Jessica Lea Mayfield: Fri., July 8.
Mountain Man: Sat., July 16.
Jim Ward (of At the Drive-In): With the Lusitania, Sun., June 19, $5/$10.
Yourself and the Air: Sat., July 9, 9 p.m., $8/$10.

Marquis Theater
Agnostic Front: Wed., Sept. 14.
We the Kings: Tue., Aug. 9.

Ogden Theatre
All Time Low: With Mayday Parade, The Cab, We Are The In Crowd, Sat., Aug. 20, 6:30 p.m., $23.50.
Grace Potter & the Nocturnals: Sun., July 10, 8 p.m., $25.

Paramount Theatre
Return to Forever IV: Featuring Chick Corea, Stanley Clarke, Lenny White Add Jean-Luc Ponty and Frank Gambale. With Zappa Plays Zappa, Sat., Aug. 27, 8 p.m., $49.50-$129.50.

Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Deadmau5: Tue., Aug. 30, 7:30 p.m., $50-$55/VIP $125

Soiled Dove Underground
Dave Alvin: Thu., July 21.
Big Sandy & His Fly-Rite Boys: Fri., July 15.
The Hickman-Dalton Gang (CD release): Fri., July 1.
Ottmar Liebert & Luna Negra: Sat., June 25, 7 & 10 p.m.
The Rippingtons featuring Russ Freeman: Fri., Aug. 19, 7 & 10 p.m.
Paul Thorn: Sun., July 31.
Willie & Lobo: Sat., Aug. 27

Summit Music Hall
Alkaline Trio: Mon., July 11.
The Human League: With Men Without Hats, Thu., Sept. 15.
RX Bandits: Sun., July 24.

Swallow Hill Music Hall
Karla Bonoff: Fri., Nov. 4.
Dala: Fri., July 8.
Horse Feathers: Fri., Sept. 30.
Charlie Hunter Duo: Fri., Sept. 9.


Click through for Local Playlists
My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
Sort: Newest | Oldest

Now Trending

From the Vault

 

Denver Event Tickets
Loading...