Mile Highlights: This week's concert news, local radio playlists and top album sales

0502_dcosky.JPG
Here's what's good in the Mile High City this week: In concert news, we've received word that Lil Wayne is coming to town in August, followed by Santana and George Lopez, who are coming to Red Rocks in September. On local radio, Novus Folium, Justin Roth and Elephant Revival got spins. Meanwhile, at our local record stores, Beastie Boys absolutely dominated the charts with their new album, Hot Sauce Committee Part 2. Click through for a full rundown.


This Just In: New Concerts and On-sale Dates


Thumbnail image for 0509_santana.jpg
As reported yesterday, Lil Wayne is bringing his I Am Music Still tour to Comfort Dental Amphitheatre on Tuesday, August 30, while Carlos Santana and George Lopez pull into Red Rocks for a two-night stand on Saturday, September 3 and Sunday September 4, as part of their Divine Rascals tour.

Slightly Stoopid just announced the first leg of its Seedless Summer tour, which includes a stop at Red Rocks, with Rebelution and Shwayze & Cisco Adler, on Saturday, August 6. Tickets ($37.50) go on sale to the public on Saturday, May 14, with pre-sale to fans going happening now at Slightly Stoopid's website.

Battles, whose new album Gloss Drop hits stores next month on Warp, hit the Bluebird on Tuesday, July 19. Tickets ($17.75-$20) go on sale Saturday, May 14 at 10 a.m.

Here's a rundown of other recently added shows that are either on sale now or go on sale this week.

Bluebird Theater
Ballyhoo!: With the Bastard Suns and Apex Vibe, Thu., June 30, 8 p.m., $10-$15.
Battles: Tue., July 19, 8 p.m., $17.75/$20.
Carbon Leaf: With Chamberlin, Thu., Aug. 25, 8 p.m., $16/$20.
Zach Heckendorf (CD release): With Rocky Mountain Funk and M. Augustus, Sat., May 28, 8 p.m., $10.
Papadosio: Fri., Aug. 26, 9 p.m., $14-$16.
Christina Perri: Tue., Aug. 9, 8 p.m., $12.75-$15.
Robotic Pirate Monkey: With Sorry for Partying, Fri., July 8, 8:30 p.m., $10.25/$15.
Todd Snider: Sat., July 9, 9 p.m., $25.25/$28.
Who's Bad: A Tribute to Michael Jackson: Sun., July 3, 8 p.m., $18-$20.

Boulder Theater
Doug Benson: Tue., Sept. 20, 7:30 p.m., $22/$27.
Elevation Celebration: Featuring Globesonic DJ Alsultany, Desert Dwellers, Massod Ali Khan. With Duke Mushroom, Movement Flow and more, Sat., June 18, 7:30 p.m., $20.
Maraca: With Quemando, Fri., June 24, 8 p.m., $20/$25.
MC Yogi: With Donna De Lory and Gary Stroutsos, Fri., June 17, 7:30 p.m., $25.
Rocky Mountain Grateful Dead Revue: Fri., June 10, 8:30 p.m., $12.50.

Fox Theatre
Buckethead: Sat., July 23, 8:30 p.m., $25/$28.
Classified: With Kidz in the Hall, Fri., July 8, 9 p.m., $15/$18.

Gothic Theatre
Microdots (CD release): With Pink Hawks, Viretta and Now Is All You Have, Fri., June 3, $10.

Grizzly Rose
Arch Allies: Fri., Aug. 5.
Cinderella: Tue., June 28.
Cody Canada & the Departed: Sat., Aug. 6.
Hairball: Fri., July 29.
Josh Kelly: Sat., Aug. 13.

hi-dive
Bill Callahan: Mon., June 27, $15.
Rosebuds: Sat., July 16, $12/$14.
Those Darlins: Mon., Aug. 8, $10.

Larimer Lounge
Cults: Mon., Aug. 1
Grant Hart (of Husker Du): Mon., June 27, $12/$15.

Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Carlos Santana: With George Lopez, Sept. 3-4, 7:30 p.m., $45-$100.
Slightly Stoopid: With Rebelution and Shwayze & Cisco Adler, Sat., Aug. 6.


Click through for Local Playlists

My Voice Nation Help
0 comments

Now Trending

Denver Concert Tickets

From the Vault

 

Loading...