Mile Highlights: Denver/Boulder area concert news, local radio playlists and top album sales

0104-dnvrsky.jpg
Here's what's hot this week in music on the Front Range: On the concert front, new shows featuring the Beach Boys, Florence + the Machine, the Walkmen, Passion Pit and Justice were announced; Coles Whalen, Caleb Slade, FaceMan and the Apples got spins on local radio; and recent albums from Adele, Tennis and Mark Lanegan were the top sellers at our local record stores. Page down for a complete rundown.


This Just In: New Concerts and On-Sale Dates


dj31.jpg
Aaron Thackeray

As reported last week, Rusko, DJ Shadow, Paper Diamond and Pictureplane will headline the Levitate Festival on April 20 at 1STBANK Center and Alan Jackson will be at Red Rocks on June 28, and earlier this week we mentioned that Bonnie Raitt will be at Red Rocks on August 26. A few more dates were added to Red Rocks summer lineup, including the Beach Boys 50th Anniversary (with Brian Wilson on board) on July 20, Florence + the Machine and the Walkmen on July 25, and Passion Pit and Justice on August 7.


BLUEBIRD THEATER


Civil Twilight: Wed., April 25, 8 p.m., $9.33/$15.
Grouplove: Sat., May 19.
Eric Hutchinson: Tue., April 17.
The Lumineers: Fri., May 11, 9 p.m., $10.50/$15.
Mark Lanegan Band: Sun., May 20.
Never Say Never: With Koji, Kurt Travis and Bearcat, Wed., May 2, 6:30 p.m., $22.50/$25.


BOULDER THEATER


Boulder Roots & Blues Summit: Featuring Taj Mahal, Fri., May 18, 6 p.m., $35-$65. Featuring Keb' Mo', Sat., May 19, 6 p.m., $30-$50.
Clutch and Hellyeah: Sun., April 29, 7:15 p.m., $29.50/$33.
eTown with Young the Giant and Civil Twilight: Sun., April 1, 6 p.m., $20.
Microbreweries for the Environment: With Grant Farm featuring Keith Moseley and Bill Nershi, the Drunken Hearts and The Mile Markers, Fri., April 27, 8 p.m., $20/$22.
Paa Kow & By All Means (CD release): With Logo Ligi, Wed., April 11, 7 p.m., $15.


1STBANK Center


Levitate Festival: Featuring Rusko, DJ Shadow, Paper Diamond and Pictureplane, Fri., April 20, 7:30 p.m., $35-$42.50.


FOX THEATRE


Men: With DJ Sprinkles (aka Terre Thaemlitz), Fri., April 27, 8:30 p.m., $20.
Raewkwon: With Freddie Gibbs and Supernatural, Fri., March 30, 8:30 p.m., $25/$27.50.


GOTHIC THEATRE


Nikki Glaser: Thu., March 8, 8 p.m., $12/$14.
Here Lies the Difference: With Out of Options, Controlled Demise, A Daydream Suicide, Forgotten Within and DJ Dirty Panda, Sun., March 4, 8 p.m., $8/$10.


LARIMER LOUNGE


Active Child: Sat., May 19, $13.50/$18.


L2 ARTS & CULTURE


Tinariwen: Tue., June 5, 8 p.m., $32.


MARQUIS THEATER


Crowbar: With Prong and Witchburn, Sat., April 14.
Enter Shakiri: With LetLive and At the Skyline, Thu., May 3, 7 p.m., $12/$15.
Guttermouth: With Boldtype, Fri., March 16, $13.
He Is We: With Deas Vail and South Jordan, Tue., May 29, 7 p.m., $13/$15.
The Menzingers: With Cheap Girls, the Sidekicks and Elway, Tue., March 27, 7 p.m., $10/$12.


MOE'S ORIGINAL BBQ


The Bright Light Social Hour: Tue., April 17, $10/$13.
Dinosaur Feathers: With Petals of Spain, Tue., March 20, 9 p.m., $6/$8.
Lilac: Mon., March 19, 9 p.m., $5.
Modern Day Escape: With Glass Delirium, Thu., March 22, $5/$7.
Peter & the Test Tube Babies: With the Bad Engrish, Potato Pirates and 99 Bottles, Wed., March 28, 9 p.m., $12/$15.


OGDEN THEATRE


Ozomatli: Wed., June 13, 8 p.m., $23.75/$30.


PARAMOUNT THEATRE


Counting Crows: Thu., April 19.


RED ROCKS AMPHITHEATRE


The Beach Boys: Tue., July 10.
Florence + the Machine: With the Walkmen, Wed., July 25, 7:30 p.m.
Global Dance Festival 10th Anniversary: July 20-22, 3-day passes $150.
Alan Jackson: Thu., June 28, 7:30 p.m., $39.50-$79.50.
Passion Pit: With Justice, Tue., Aug. 7.
Bonnie Raitt: Sun., Aug. 26, 7:30 p.m., $40-$80.


SUMMIT MUSIC HALL


Blood on the Dance Floor: With Brokencyde, Deuce, Polkadot Cadaver, William Control, the Bunny the Bear, New Years Day and Haily Rose, Sat., April 14, $17/$20.
Vapor Fest: March 23-24, $20-$25/2-day passes $30.


SWALLOW HILL MUSIC HALL


The Alash Ensemble: Fri., April 6, 8 p.m., $18.
The Dunwells: Fri., March 23, 8 p.m.
Michelle Shocked: Sat., May 12, 8 p.m., $26.
Missy Raines & the New Hip: Fri., June 1, 8 p.m., $16.


Click through for this week's Local Radio Playlists


Sponsor Content

My Voice Nation Help
0 comments

Now Trending

Denver Concert Tickets

Around The Web

From the Vault

 

Loading...