Dandy Warhols, Cake, Fiona Apple among new shows, Alabama Shakes, Nicki Minaj top sellers

Categories: Mile Highlights

041012_dandy_big.jpg
Here's what's hot this week in music on the Front Range: On the concert front, new shows from the Dandy Warhols, Cake, Fiona Apple and more were announced; Musketeer Gripweed, Hot Robots, and Broken Tongues got spins on local radio; and recent albums from the Alabama Shakes, Nicki Minaj, the Shins and Fun. were the top sellers at our local record stores. Page down for a complete rundown.


This Just In: New Concerts and On-Sale Dates


0409cake.jpg

On the cusp of releasing a new album in a few weeks comes word of the Dandy Warhols' return to Denver. The band, led by Courtney Taylor-Taylor, is slated to appear at the Gothic Theatre on Tuesday, June 12. Tickets ($26-$32) for the show go on sale this Friday, April 13, at 10 a.m.

Elsewhere, as previously reported, Cake will be at Red Rocks on July 28, Fiona Apple at the Paramount on July 20, Savoy and Lotus at Red Rocks on September 7 and 8, The Cult at the Odgen Theatre on May 30, Screeching Weasel at the Gothic on July 13, Bow Wow at the Gothic on June 11 and Jason Mraz at Red Rocks on September 24.

Denver Botanic Gardens announced its summer lineup this week, which includes Al Green, Diana Krall, Pat Metheny Unity Band, Gipsy Kings, Natalie Merchant and more. Tickets go on sale to members on Monday, April 23.


BLUEBIRD THEATER


Break Science featuring Adam Deitch: Thu., May 24, 9 p.m., $10/$15.
Dirty Projectors: With Wye Oak, Fri., July 20, 9 p.m., $25/$30.
Good Gravy: Sat., June 2, 9 p.m., $10/$15.
Mickey Avalon: With the Millionaires, Wed., June 20, 8 p.m., $22.50/$25.
Mishka and Anuhea: Tue., May 15, 8 p.m., $12/$16.


BOULDER THEATER


Jonny Lang: Tue., July 10, 7 p.m., $30/$32.50.


COMFORT DENTAL AMPHITHEATRE


KS1075 Summer Jam XV: Featuring Rick Ross, Wiz Khalifa, Tyga, B.O.B., Wale and Big Sean, Fri., June 8, 5:30 p.m., $29-$69.
Mayhem Festival: Featuring Slipknot, Slayer, Anthrax, Motorhead, As I Lay Dying, the Devil Wears Prada, Asking Alexandra, High on Fire and Whitechapel, Sun., July 8, 1:30 p.m., $25.50-$72.50.


DENVER BOTANIC GARDENS


Bruce Hornsby & the Noisemakers: Thu., Aug. 30, $57/$62.
Mary Chapin Carpenter: Wed., July 25, $57/$62.
Marc Cohn: With Joan Osborne, Mon., July 16, $45/$59.
Shawn Colvin: With Loudon Wainwright III, Fri., Aug. 10, $53/$58.
Al Green: Mon., July 23, $78/$83.
Diana Krall: Mon., Aug. 6, $83/$88.
Ladysmith Black Mambazo: With the Johnny Clegg Band, Thu., Aug. 9, $53/$58.
Kenny Loggins: With Blue Sky Riders, Thu., Aug. 16, $63/$68.
Natalie Merchant & the Colorado Symphony Orchestra: Tue., July 17, $63/$68.
Nanci Griffith: With Greg Brown, Wed., July 11, $52/$57.
Pat Metheny Unity Band: Fri., Sept. 7, $55/$60.


ELITCH GARDENS


Cobra Starship: Sat., June 9.
Hot Chelle Rae: Sat., July 21.
Intocable: Sun., July 22.
Victoria Justice: Sun., Sept. 9.


FOX THEATRE


Break Science & Orchard Lounge: Wed., May 23, 8 p.m., $13/$15.
West Water Outlaws: Wed., May 9, 8:30 p.m., $10/$12.
One Be Low & Kublakai: With Microphone Militants, Risky Jones, Kno Respek & King Rich, Thu., May 24, 8:30 p.m., $15/$17.


GOTHIC THEATRE


Calling Out West: With Viretta (CD release), Medic and the Fairground, Fri., May 18, 9 p.m., $10/$12.
The Dandy Warhols: Tue., June 12, 9 p.m., $26/$32.
Six Feet Under: With Revocation, Mon., June 18, 8 p.m., $15/$20.


MARQUIS THEATER


Ceremony: Thu., June 21.
Charm City Devils: Sat., May 5.
River City Extension: With the Drowning Men, Sat., June 23.
Scale the Summit: Tue., June 12.
Terror & Bane: Tue., July 24.
The Twelves: With the Phantom's Revenge, Boyhollow and Option4, Wed., May 23, 8:30 p.m., $15/$17.


MOE'S ORIGINAL BBQ


Dendrites: With Ska Skank Redemption, Rude Tuna and Contraband, Wed., May 23, 9 p.m., $5.
Igor & the Red Elvises: With Total Ghost, Tue., May 22, 9 p.m., $10.


PARAMOUNT THEATRE


Fiona Apple: Fri., July 20.


RED ROCKS AMPHITHEATRE


Cake: With the Lumineers, Sat., July 28, 7:30 p.m., $36.50-$45.
Lotus: With EOTO and Emancipator, Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30 p.m., $37.50/$40.
Jason Mraz: With Christina Perri, Mon., Sept. 24, 7:30 p.m.
O.A.R.: With Rebelution, Sun., July 15, 7:30 p.m., $38.50-$42.50.
Savoy: With Modestep, SOFI, Robotic Pirate Monkey, Heather Bright and more, Fri., Sept. 7, 7:30 p.m., $37.50-$40/VIP $75.


SOILED DOVE UNDERGROUND


Four80East: With Shilts and Matt Marshak, Fri., June 1.
Jimmy Lafave: Thu., June 7.
Ottmar Liebert & Luna Negra: Sat., Aug. 18.
Kelly Joe Phelps: Sat., Oct. 6.
Rachel Platten: Fri., May 25.
Stephen Kellogg & the Sixers: Wed., June 6.
Ian Tyson: Tue., Oct. 2.


SPORTS AUTHORITY FIELD AT MILE HIGH


Vans Warped Tour: Featuring Breathe Carolina, Taking Back Sunday, Yellowcard, Anti-Flag, New Found Glory, All Time Low, the Used and more, Sun., June 17, 11 a.m., $34.50/$42.


SUMMIT MUSIC HALL


The Early November: Fri., June 1.
Marina & the Diamonds: With Ms Mr, Wed., July 18, 8 p.m., $16/$18.
Neon Trees: Tue., May 29, 8 p.m., $15.
Pennywise: Fri., May 18.
Pop Evil: Sat., June 2.
Re:Creation featuring the Magician & Flosstradamus: Fri., June 8.


SWALLOW HILL


Nicki Bluhm & the Gramblers: With Casey James Prestwood & the Burning Angels, Fri., July 20, 8 p.m., $15.


Click through for this week's Local Radio Playlists


My Voice Nation Help
1 comments
Sort: Newest | Oldest
Payton_vege
Payton_vege

Amazing write-up! This could aid plenty of people find out more about this particular issue. Are you keen to integrate video clips coupled with these? It would absolutely help out. Your conclusion was spot on and thanks to you; I probably won’t have to describe everything to my pals. I can simply direct them here!

Now Trending

From the Vault

 

Denver Event Tickets
Loading...