How to get screwed by new vehicle registration fees at the DMV
At the DMV this morning, Colorado drivers assume the position for new registration fees.
So being the financial masochist that I am, I decided to renew my car's delinquent registration at 8 a.m. this morning, on the exact day that new fees and fines went into effect. The cost in March when my registration ran out: $87. The cost today: $283.
But Jared, you ask: Why didn't you just register your car three months ago using the massive salary you receive as a staff writer for Denver's premier alternative newsweekly? And why didn't you, an alleged news reporter, realize that the humongous fee hike and late-fee penalties recently put into law by Colorado's fine elected leadership would be instituted on the exact day you decided to finally get your car on the up-and-up?
Those are some good questions. But I wouldn't be the same man who had a warrant out for his arrest for letting his Beagle off-leash in Washington Park if I suddenly started paying things on time.
Still, I wasn't the only driver there with sticker shock at having to pay an additional $22.50 for an average sized vehicle, (a cost that goes up to $29 by 2011) and a $25 penalty for every month late. This was particularly true considering that people these days have a lot less money to dish out to the government.
"When the economy got sour, I just parked it in the garage," explained one man to the DMV clerk about why he was late renewing his second car. When he was told the cost would be $107, he exclaimed, "Why so much?!" At least he didn't cuss and storm out of the office like the lady before me.
The state plans to use the $250 million raised by the new fees and fines will largely go to fix roads and crumbling bridges. Some $15 million is earmarked for transit and roadway safety projects such as building bike lanes and pedestrian crossings. So I suppose it's a good thing to know that my shameful procrastination is serving a higher purpose. You can thank me later, Colorado.