Rocky Mountain Rollergirls and Denver Roller Dolls in Portland for Bridgetown Brawl

bridgetown-brawl-logo-lrg.jpg
All-star teams from both of Colorado's premier roller derby leagues -- Rocky Mountain Rollergirls and the Denver Roller Dolls -- are in Portland, Oregon, this weekend for the Bridgetown Brawl Women's Flat Track Derby Association (WFTDA) West Region Playoffs at Memorial Coliseum, and all of the tournament's bouts will be webcast live at DerbyAccess.com, starting today at 10:30 a.m. PST (11:30 a.m. MST).

Both Colorado teams have byes in the first round because they're currently ranked #2 and #3 in the West Region, which means for Colorado derby fans, the action will really get going this evening:

The Rocky Mountain Rollergirls' 5280 Fight Club -- defending 2010 WFTDA champions -- will skate their first bout today at 4:30 p.m. PST (5:30 p.m. MST) against either the Sacred City Derby Girls (Sacramento, CA) or the Angel City Derby Girls (Culver City, CA).

The Denver Roller Dolls' Mile High Club will skate against the Rat City Rollergirls (Seattle, WA) at 7:30 p.m. PST (8:30 p.m. MST).

Tonight, go ahead and root for both RMRG and DRD: Local roller derby fans won't have to choose allegiance until semifinals on Saturday at 1:00 p.m. PST, when there's a decent chance they'll be battling each other, depending on how the brackets shake out (see below).

5222ac40b822c73708a01627419e9941.jpg

Most roller-derby followers are predicting a finals rematch showdown between RMRG and the Oly Rollers from Olympia, WA (currently ranked #1 in the region) but either way there's a possibility that both Colorado teams could advance to the WFTDA Championship Tournament, to be hosted by the Denver Roller Dolls at the 1stBank Center, November 11 through 13: The first-, second- and third-place teams from the Bridgetown Brawl will make the cut, which means one of the Colorado teams could have to fight for it in the consolation round. We'll post results and recap some of the action on Monday.

Follow us on Twitter!

Like us on Facebook!


Advertisement

My Voice Nation Help
0 comments

Now Trending

Denver Concert Tickets

From the Vault

 

Loading...