MasterMinds: Calling all creative geniuses!

Categories: MasterMinds

Sabin Aell and Randy Rushton of Hinterland, 2012 winner.
Nine years ago, Westword introduced the MasterMind awards. Recognizing that the local arts scene needed a little fertilizer to really get going, and growing, we created a program that every year honors five cultural visionaries -- artists and organizations alike, in the very broad areas of multimedia, performing arts, literary arts, visual arts and fashion/design -- working to change the cultural landscape of metro Denver. And we decided to not just honor them, but to give them each substantial cash awards to use as they see fit...with no strings attached.

Now we're getting ready to choose our ninth class of MasterMinds, which will be introduced at Artopia on Saturday, February 23.

See also:
- MasterMind Awards honor our eighth class of artistic entrepreneurs
- Slide Show: Artopia 2012
- Meet the MasterMinds at Create Denver Week

The first eight classes of MasterMinds have done amazing things with their awards, frequently using them to help other struggling artists along and creating major multipliers for the more than $130,000 that Westword has given away so far. "Winning the MasterMind was everything to me," says Eric Matelski a 2010 MasterMind. "I was working my ass off to make every art idea I had stick. I had to work a full-time day job plus random second jobs to do the projects I believed in. I really enjoyed the artists I was working with and enjoyed the idea of promoting them in the most unique ways. When I won, I really did not expect it; it was such a shock. I needed the money, but the award at the time weighed heavier on my mind. This meant that people were paying attention to what I was doing in Denver and liked it."

Each year, the previous winners help choose our next class of MasterMinds at meetings as creative and freewheeling as many of the people and groups the awards honor. Our first brainstorming session will be today -- but we're also accepting nominations from across the scene. If you have an individual or organization you'd like to nominate, send an e-mail with a brief explanation of why they're deserving, as well as contact information (so that we can do our own research), to

To help get your creative juices flowing, here are the previous winners:

2012 MasterMinds
Minor Disturbance
Andrew Orvedahl
Dianne Denholm
Lance Stack

2011 MasterMinds

Slam Nuba
Sarah Slater
Tricia Hoke
Illiterate/Adam Gildar
Tiffiny Wine

2010 MasterMinds

Fallene Wells
Jennie Dorris
Jolt/Guerilla Garden
Eric Matelski
Laura Goldhamer

2009 MasterMinds
Brian Freeland/LIDA Project
Viviane LeCourtois
Ravi Zupa
The Denver Voice
Vicky Nolan

2008 MasterMinds

Creative Music Works
RINO/Jill Hadley Hooper and Tracy Weil
Jason Bosch/Argus Fest
Art From Ashes
Mona Lucero

2007 MasterMinds

Jessica Robblee
Jimmy Sellars
Tony Shawcross/Deproduction/Denver Open Media
Vox Feminista
The Fabric Lab/Josh and Tran Wills

2006 MasterMinds

Dragon Daud, aka Dave Denney
Katie Taft
Deb Henriksen
Cafe Nuba/Ashara Ekundayo
Johnny Morehouse

2005 MasterMinds

Lauri Lynnxe Murphy
Emerging Filmmakers Project @ Bug Theater
Brandi Shigley
Denver Zine Library
Buntport Theater

Remember, these are not lifetime achievement awards. They're for working artists, entrepreneurs and organizations that are making an impact right now. Deadline for nominations: Friday, January 25.

Sponsor Content

My Voice Nation Help

Now Trending

Denver Concert Tickets

From the Vault